True.

Rear wheel with 12 spokes

My new bike, by the way (new frame)

I just learned that my front wheel has 10 spokes and my back wheel has 12.  Spokes on the wheels of a bicycle help hold the “truth” of the circles that are the wheels we ride on.  I swear, I have had my bike for three years and learned a lot of lessons from it.  It has been a reason to be around people that teach a lot of lessons too.  Last week, I was lucky to have an encounter with a person who knows far more about bikes than I will ever know.  He pointed out, that my rear wheel needed truing.

Wheel Truing:  Having all the spokes tight with fairly even tension makes the wheel true and strong. Changes to spoke tension will pull on the rim and affect its true.  http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/wheel-and-rim-truing  The truing process examine the later alignment as well as the radial alignment to ensure there is an even circle and there is minimal lateral wobble in the wheel.

Much like our bikes, our lives have to be trued.  I know there are several times a day that my life is straightened, aligned or trued.  It is a constantly evolving part of the lives we lead.  There are bumps in the road, influences, injuries and injustices which can lead us off of our truth.  If you can imagine a diagram that looks like a bicycle tire and apply the following 12 spokes of your life:

1. Family 2. Spiritual  3. Career 4. Health 5. Financial 6. Education 7. Recreation 8. Charity 9. Adventure 10. Travel 11. Romance 12. Relationships

Now check your wheel.  Give each spoke a 1-10 rating and see where you need to add at(tension) to get your life true.  I have the quote by Albert Einstein on my facebook, my twitter, my vision board that says, “Life is like riding a bicycle.  To keep your balance, you have to keep moving.”  I bet the guy who came up with theory of relativity could explain the dynamics of the whole truing of wheels far better than I.  As far as, staying in motion, I give a little credit to Newton.  The aforementioned 12 spokes of life are part of a moving wheel, constantly changing and influenced by the motion of others.  Hold on your truth.  Your True North.  Keep moving and check for wobbles. Have people in your life that point out the truth to you.  Spend time and at(tension) balancing them and enjoy the ride.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

